State of Orgins Series

Welcome to the the UK’s unofficial home of the State of Origin series.

So what is the State of Origin Series?

State of Origin Map

The State of Origin is the leading rugby competition in the world and showcases the talents of some of Rugby League’s greatest players.

The Australian competition which consists of the series of 3 games is played between the States of New South Wales and Queensland, with players selected for the team that they started there Rugby League career in, hence the name State of Origin!


New South Wales v Queensland
Match 1 May 27th 2015 20:00 (11:00 UK) ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Match 2 June 17th 2014 20:00 (11:00 UK) Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
Match 3 July 8th 2014 20:00 (11:00 UK) Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane


The Queensland team is nicknamed the Maroon’s due to the colour of their shirt and are the more successful of the 2 teams.

Queensland play their ‘home’ games at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane which is also the home stadium for the Brisbane Broncos who tend to provide the bulk of the Queensland team.

New South Wales

The New South Wales team are nicknames the Blues again due to the colour of their shirt and play their ‘home’ games at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium or Stadium Australia as it is better known as.

Playing in Sydney, the self titled ‘home of rugby league’, the New South Wales team is traditionally made up of teams from the Sydney region but due to recent successful expansion of the NRL, players come from all over.